cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Accounts under LegalApp vs Finance Application

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi guys

I am new to SAP BPC and it might be redundant to ask the difference between Legal App and Finance application.

Please verify the following. According to my understanding, the finance application gives you the ability to do currency translations and intercompany eliminations if you are a single entity and have no subsidiaries.

The Legal application gives you the ability to have complex consolidation rules (with ownership and subsidiaries) along with built-in business rules for currency translation and inter company elimination.

If these definitions are right. how should the accounts be strucutred. Should we use the same accounts for managment vs legal consolidation. Or do we have seperate accounts?

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Yes. You would need these dimensions in legal consolidation. You need to have right set fo rpoerties on these dimensions to perform legal consolidation.

Ravi Thothadri

Answers (2)

Answers (2)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Like I said earlier, legal consolidation has fixed set of rules to satisfy legal requirements.

Mgt consolidation has process and requirements that suit each company.

Ravi Thothadri

Former Member
0 Kudos

Great answers guys! Now I know that I want to implement legal consolidation as the client is not interested in having management consolidation.

In that case, my next question would be -

Is the same setup (e.g. properties in the dimensions like account, entity, intercompany, currency etc.) required when you are using business rules vs. script logic for intercompany elimination and foreign currency translation?

Former Member
0 Kudos