cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Updated Filename in File Receiver

Former Member
0 Kudos

I need to append today's date to the file name when outputting a file. The date isn't available in the outbound XML so I can't use variable substitution. Does anyone have any suggestions?

Accepted Solutions (0)

Answers (9)

Answers (9)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi, Perhaps I should explain a little more about the interface I'm trying to build. It's iDoc to File. I don't have access to a date or time in the outbound XML file so I can't use variable substitution. I can't add additional fields to the outbound message as the partner would reject them. I need to rename the outbound file including the date and a sequence number.

I'm not a JAVA programmer and know nothing about user defined functions but am more than willing to learn. I see that I need to create a mapping to the root node, using my date and including a userdefined function to put this value somewhere I can get it later. Can someone please explain how I reference this value from the receiver comms channel?

former_member189441
Active Participant
0 Kudos

Hi,

I don't have access to a date or time in the outbound XML file so I can't use variable substitution. I can't add additional fields to the outbound message as the partner would reject them.

To Map the Date function you no need any field in the source structure.The Date function is the standard function.and it wont take any input from sourece.it simply returns the current date in the specifies format.

I see that I need to create a mapping to the root node, using my date and including a userdefined function to put this value somewhere I can get it later