cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Difference between Update rules and Transformations

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello friends,

This is my first post in this forum. I am very new to BI and just went through training. I am very grateful to the forum members' posts which have helped me a lot in learning BI.

My question is:

What is the difference b/w Update rules and Tranformations. Both seem to have the same kind of features ie, formulas, routines to make changes to the target fields from the source fields.

Thanks in advance,

Raghu

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Transformations is a new concept from BI 7.0. yes it is similar to update rules.

Except that transformations use Data Tranfer Process and update rules use infopackages.

Next time, please search the forum and you will find lots of info.

Answers (4)

Answers (4)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Thanks for the info. Appreciate it.

I am closing this as I got the required answer.

Former Member
0 Kudos
Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

Transformations are the new method (for BI 7.x) used to transform your data between your datasource and data target.

The are very similar to update rules which are one part of the transformation step that was common in version 3.5 and earlier versions.

Transformations are a bit more powerful than the old update/transfer rules that they replaced and only work with the DTP's which were also introduced in 7.x.

As a new person to BI, working in version 7.x, I would try to stick with only using transformations and DTP's since that is the way of the future.

Brian

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Raghu,

Transformations is a BI7 Concept. Update rules is a BW3.5 concept.

You can classify the differences as

1) Update rules are written using ABAP.

Whereas for transformation rules you can use ABAP, or formula builder(which generates ABAP automatically)