Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Number range

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

I am new to asset accounting...

We have an asset class for which we are almost close to using up the number range for eg:

asset class: 3200

Number range: 14 which has a range defined 320000-320999

I want to know, if i can by anyways increase the number range?

If I create a new interval say 21 with a range of 322000-322999 instead of 14, which is company code specific. My question is if i assign this new 21 to this asset class, will it affect any other company codes for the same asset class?

I would like a step by step process help, if possible.

Thanks in advance,

Anusha

Edited by: Anusha Gopalakrishnan on Sep 8, 2008 5:48 PM

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

MarkusBredel
Employee
Employee
0 Kudos

Hi,

have you ever thought to answer your question by yourself with testing? I mean your following question:

> I want to know, if i can by anyways increase the number range?

>

> If I create a new interval say 21 with a range of 322000-322999 instead of 14, which is company code specific. My question is if i assign this new 21 to this asset class, will it affect any other company codes for the same asset class?

>

> Edited by: Anusha Gopalakrishnan on Sep 8, 2008 5:48 PM

The answer to this question can be easily found out by changing according umber range in the system and checking the impacts. Wouldn´t this be much more effective?

Regards,

Markus

NathanGenez
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Agreed.

Answers (3)

Answers (3)

NathanGenez
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

who decied to create a number range that could only handle 999 asset records?

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am not sure, I guess it has been like this since GO Live in 2001 and I have been here for the past 6 months, so not me.

Any ideas how this can be done?

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Anusha,

It is possible to change number ranges for assets. (this is on company code level!!!!)