cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Payroll posting to FI

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello experts,

We have a problem when payroll posts to FI and I need your help in resolving it.

When FI blocks a cost center and payroll goes to post, we get an error message that says payroll can't post to a blocked cost center.

I know the logical answer is to tell FI to open the cost center and let us post but FI doesn't want to keep doing it every time there is a posting error. We have explained to them that because we do retros and such, there may always be a chance that we will need to post to a blocked cost center.

Is there any way around this situation? How are the others handling this? Is there a setting in payroll somewhere that we can set to allow for posting? Please help! I'm fairly new to payroll and this issue has become a pain point for us.

Thanks, Suparna

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello Suparna,

This scenario is very common. We can configure this using "Set up Substitute Cost centers" in img~> PY> PY-US~> Posting to FI ~~> Activities in AC System ~~> Setup Substitute Cost centers.

During retros and any posting scenario If this master cost center is in a different company code due to company restructuring, or cannot be posted to (locked, deleted, delimited), the system posts to a substitute cost center.

Good Luck.

-Harsha

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello,

Thank you for you assistance.

One question though. I have asked my FI team about substitute cost centers and they say that having that is not a good alternative because that just makes it a different cost center they have to watch instead of the blocked one.

Not being an FI person, is there a way to block anyone but payroll from posting to a substitute cost center?

I'm fairly new to SAP and don't know much about substitute cost centers.

Thanks for any help you can provide!

Suparna

Former Member
0 Kudos