cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Logoff question - HttpSession & Security Session

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hello everyone,

I was wondering if the problem I am trying to solve was encountered by any of you.

We have a portal application that stores data into the HttpSession. Upon HttpSession timeout, we catch the appropriate events by implementing the HttpSessionBindingListener interface and do a clean-up. However, the cleanup cannot be complete unless the user is logged off entirely, including from the Security Session (or UME Session, not sure what the name is).

What happens is that the HttpSession gets invalidated/cleared but the user in not prompted with a log-in screen and hence he/she can continue navigating the portal.

Now here's what troubles me: is there a way to force the user to log-off upon HttpSession timeout?

I am very new with SAP stuff and I might not see the reason things are built the way they are but it seems to me that the two sessions are not in sync. You can easily invalidate one and the other one is still there.

Another side question would be, how else can I implement an idle timeout (i.e. after 30 minutes OF INACTIVITY, the user gets logged off)? The portal only seems to have a general timeout and not an inactivity/idle timeout setting.

Thank you in advance,

Adrian

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

detlev_beutner
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

Hi Adrian,

you are right, the HttpSession works as expectec, anyhow, the logon time is determined by the validity period of the SAPLogonTicket, issued when logging in.

See /thread/94917 [original link is broken] for a more detailed discussion.

Hope it helps

Detlev

PS: Please consider rewarding points for helpful answers on SDN. Thanks in advance!

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi Detlev,