Application Development Discussions
Join the discussions or start your own on all things application development, including tools and APIs, programming models, and keeping your skills sharp.
cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Reg: Public and Private class

radhushankar
Participant
0 Kudos

Hi all

I am new to abab objects and i got the technical details about public as well as private section..can any one let me in which case we have to go for public and in which case we have to go for private section and what are the limitation in both the cases??

Thanks

1 ACCEPTED SOLUTION

Former Member
0 Kudos

Declare all your Methods in Public section and all your data in the private section.

Use your methods to access the private data.

Thanks,

Karthik

15 REPLIES 15

Former Member
0 Kudos

Declare all your Methods in Public section and all your data in the private section.

Use your methods to access the private data.

Thanks,

Karthik

0 Kudos

Hello Radhu

You will find many ABAP classes where you have public instance attributes yet they are read-only, e.g. (IF_PT_EMPLOYEE~PERNR of CL_PT_EMPLOYEE).

Adavantage of such an approach (instead of a GET method for the PERNR) is the more direct access to this key attribute of the class.

Regards

Uwe

matt
Active Contributor
0 Kudos

>

> Declare all your Methods in Public section and all your data in the private section.

> Use your methods to access the private data.

>

> Thanks,

> Karthik

A good start, but not right

Only methods that are designed to be accessed outside of the class should be public. Methods that are designed to be used only by the class or its subclasses should be protected. Methods that are designed to be use only by the class should be private.

Same goes for attributes, types etc.

Essentially, everything should be private, unless it needs to be otherwise.