cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Question About Statefull Vs. Stateless Session Beans

Former Member
0 Kudos

Hi,

I'm fairly new to the web application server, and have the following scenario and question relating to stateless vs. statefull session beans.

Let's say I have a bean that offers some kind of service and the bean accesses database(s) as part of fulfilling that service. If the bean maintains a single private 'connection' variable to access a database, it seems to me that the bean would be vulnerable when there are multiple concurrent clients. So if client A is being given results, but client B comes along and asks for a new connection, things may get messed up with client A.

Will implementing the bean as a statefull session bean prevent the messed-up scenario described in the previous paragraph? In other words, will the bean have the necessary concurrency management support if it's implemented as a stateful session bean? Or would you be better off to go with a stateless session bean and implement your own connection pooling management? I would like to think "no", and I would imagine that the scenario described here would be one of the reasons you'd go with a stateful rather than a stateless session bean. But, the key word here is "imagine"; like I said at the start, I am in the process of discovering the functionality of the J2ee engine and I would equally appreciate any agreement and disagreement with my line of reasoning.

Many thanks,

Colm.

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

HI,

In case of the stateless bean the concurrency problem is taken care automatically, we need not worry about what happens if there are concurrent users.

In case of stateful bean for each connection it maintains a private connection with the Database.

Refer the Link for more Info

http://help.sap.com/saphelp_nw04/helpdata/en/41/05503e30a9d549e10000000a114084/frameset.htm

Former Member
0 Kudos