cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Very Basic ESOA question

Former Member
0 Kudos

I am a REAL newbie to ESOA. So my question is very basic.

I am looking to develop an application that makes a web call using SOAP or XML to a service within the SDN ES Workplace. I don't care what it does there except I want it to be meaningful, like retrieiving a list of customers or vendors or GL balances, or whatever. The application making a web call would not have any SAP software installed on it. No SAPGUI, No Visual Composer, nothing from SAP. It's just a pure web client that can make a SOAP and/or XML call.

So, first of all is that even technically possible? Is that what the ES Workplace all about?

Thanks

Accepted Solutions (1)

Accepted Solutions (1)

0 Kudos

Hi Wardell,

Yes, it is possible to call any enterprise service available in SDN ES workplace without have any SAP tool. That is a basic rule of consuming webservice. But you need to have proper information about the end points and authorizations to call that service. then only you can call a webservice, irrespective of that in which technology it is build.

Hope this will answer you Q.

regards,

Adish

Former Member
0 Kudos

Adish (and others),

This is great news and what I had hoped.

How is the concept of "logon" and "authorization" handled? Is it via a web service call also?

Thanks to everyone for their replies!!

Wardell

Former Member
0 Kudos

Wardell,

SOA is an architecture. The way u would retrieve any web service or wsdl remains the same as u would have done it in normal PI/XI.

SOA/ESOA is a technique in which the same interface would be developed in an more efficient and reusable way.

the building block remains the same as in PI.

Have u worked on SOAP adapters..?

the concepts of authorizations take place in similar way...

hope this clears ur query a bit.

regards,

Vishal

Answers (1)

Answers (1)

Former Member
0 Kudos

Wardell,